Rhubarb & Custard Sponge Slices

Hello 🙂

It seems the baking bug has returned to me over the last few weekends! With the summer fruits coming into season I couldn’t wait to get my hands on some rhubarb- it seems to be such a marmite fruit, but I LOVE the stuff! The sweet or cake version of this amazing flavour combination can’t be beaten, no pun intended hehe..

I’d love to try using it in some different baking ways this year- please leave links to any recipes you’ve done below!

We did do a bit of baking with rhubarb last year and I must confess this is a slight alteration on that recipe, but allow me to explain…

– Rhubarb & Custard Sponge Slices – 

IMG_5273.jpg

I wanted to do something a little different to the traditional sponge or crumble with the rhubarb, I was given a lovely fresh bunch from my Grandparents! For some reason tray-bake bars/cakes have been calling to me recently so I started to google.. But annoyingly almost all of the recipes included ground almonds- which I really do not like. So, as always, I thought I’d slightly adapt the original baked sponge we did last year. Which didn’t turn out terrible!  I may use a slightly bigger tin next time but it depends on if you want these slices more cake like or sponge.

You Will Need:

– 3 tbsp caster sugar        – 1 tbsp plain flour        – 300g washed/chopped rhubarb

– 120g soft butter        – 150g golden caster sugar – 2 eggs        – 120g self raising flour        – 2 tbsp vanilla        – salt        – dash of milk

– 2tbsp custard powder     – 2 tbsp caster sugar     – 1 pint milk     – 1 tsp vanilla

Method:

1. Pre-heat oven to 180’F / Gas Mark 4

2. Add the prepared fruit into a medium baking dish, sprinkle on the plain flour & caster sugar mixing well, bake for 15 mins.

3. For the custard I used half the measurements from Birds Custards powder, set aside once done

3. Whilst baking prepare the sponge mixture; beat the butter and sugar together until fluffy. Add in the egg, self raising flour and salt until fully combined. Finally adding in the vanilla.

4. Using a 2-3” high rectangular tray-bake tin (lined) spread in the sponge mixture, followed by dollops of the custard. Spoon on the baked rhubarb from the baking tin across the top almost covering.

4. Return to the oven for a further 35 mins until golden brown on top! Allow to cool slightly before cutting or serving as a pudding!

ENJOY!

IMG_5305

You could add whatever fruit you like to this; change seasonally or to whatever fruit you may have in! Either way this is such an easy and scrummy pudding- I cut it into slices as a ‘pick-up’ food but you can keep it in the dish as a sharing pudding. 

Do let me know if you try the recipe and any of your own rhubarb recipe below! 🙂

Thank You So Much For Reading 🙂

name

Bloglovin ~             ~ Twitter ~           ~ Instagram ~           ~ Contact ~

Leave a Reply

