L’Oreal Infallible Primer .vs. Smashbox Photo Finish Primer

Hello! 🙂

You may recall my previous post earlier this year about the L’Oreal Infallible Primer? Whilst researching oil-control primer the Infallible kept appearing on all the ‘top primers’ lists; for both its impressive oil-controlling powers, along its comparability to the much pricier Smashbox Photo Finish primer… Which sparked an idea to put this statement to the test! 

I’m not wanting one to fail as I do expect some major advantages for each, but I can’t wait to see how they both compare to each other! Do let me know your thoughts on these primers along with any primers for oily skin you really like below 🙂

(for the purpose of this post I only purchased a small travel size of the primer)

– L’Oreal Infallible Primer .vs. Smashbox Photo Finish Primer – 

IMG_5391.jpg

P R O D U C T    C L A I M S 

So, first of all let’s compare what they both claim : PicMonkey Image.jpg£26 for 30 ml    /    £8.99 for 35ml


P A C K A G I N G   &    F O R M U L A 

Now, there’s no debating these look very similar! Apart from the horizontal text on the Infallible and size shapes (full size on the Smashbox) it’s a close call. I like both of these tubes and you can easily tell how much product is left.IMG_5396.jpgFormula wise they both have the classic silicone feel, I would say the Smashbox is slightly drier. When applied there is little difference in texture, application and overall feel on the skin. Both with a clear formula and thick consistency- can’t really tell a difference from a photo aside from the slight mottle to the Smashbox.


D A Y    T E S T I N G 

To put both of these to a fair test I shall we wearing them with my full make up routine (primer, concealer, foundation, concealer, powder) and on a full 10-12 hour work day.

Smashbox Photo Finish

As mentioned, the formula of this primer feels like a slightly dry gel; it feels soft and glides onto the skin. You can feel where you’re putting the product as it doesn’t set in too quickly. I’d say I use about 4 pea-sized dots around my face, as always making sure nose/chin/t-zone are well covered! After allowing the primer to set for 5 mins my skin looked semi-matte with a slight tackiness. Throughout the day my skin looked and felt very comfortable, we’re coming into warmer weather here in the UK so it’s the ideal testing time!

I’d say around the 6 hour mark I had a slight dewiness & oily feel but nothing too uncomfortable. These both increased slowly over the next few hours. I didn’t blot during these tests to see how much my oils came through, after the full 12 hours thing were looking rather dewy! However after fully blotting and a touch of powder things looked pretty good considering- a little bit of product breakdown / cakey-ness around chin & nose areas, but considering this is at the 12 hour mark I’m still impressed. My skin still didn’t feel overly oily either! 

L’Oreal Infallible

I won’t go into too much detail here about this primer as I have a full review from a few months ago already. But I will say is this one does feel more silky on the skin; it applies smoothly as feels lightweight on the skin. Over the full day I did blot around lunchtime (after 6-7 hours) which took away excess shine. At the end of the day it holds up pretty well and works well with a lot of different foundations.


O V E R A L L 

This is a really close one to call! You can feel and see the slight difference in formulas & wearability, but over all I have to say considering price I would go for the L’Oreal. Honestly I do prefer the Smashbox in its lasting power, but for the difference in price I can live with one more touch up on a long day! These two products are not the same in formula, but similar enough I think to either ”save or splurge”. 

Both wear slightly differently depending on what foundation you wear, if it’s a warm day or even how long you’re wearing it for. But overall, mainly for the price aspect, I would go with the L’Oreal. They are both great primers for us oily/combo skin gals’ which I would highly recommend- but I would re-buy the L’Oreal first!

Let me know your thought’s if you’ve also tried one or both of these primers- or any other good ones for oily skin that last all day! I really hope this comparison can be helpful in some way!

Thank You So Much For Reading 🙂

name

Bloglovin ~             ~ Twitter ~           ~ Instagram ~           ~ Contact ~

2 thoughts on “L’Oreal Infallible Primer .vs. Smashbox Photo Finish Primer

  1. I don’t know how many times I’ve browsed the Smashbox counter, picked up a primer then put it back on the shelf! Love the L’Oréal though. I tried it a while back and had great results with it 💞

    Like

Leave a Reply

