Barry M Matte Me Up Lip Kits : Test & Review | The Nudes

Hello 🙂

Honestly, I haven’t been too fussed since the whole ‘Kylie Jenner Lip‘ thing came on the scene- if they weren’t so pricey I probably would have hahaa! Aside from the higher brands not many of our beloved drugstore brands (I can’t think of one!) have made their equivalent..the only brand that springs to mind is possibly Make Up Revolution?

But any who’, when I saw these new Barry M kits I was very intrigued.. I will admit it has taken me a few weeks to try these, but I haven’t tried any sort of lip-kit before! Since buying one to try I now have another 3- of course all the nude shades hahaa! As always with new releases I wanted to try, swatch and test them with you all – please let me know your thoughts if you’ve tried these too and any blog post links below 🙂

– Barry M Matte Me Up Lip Kits : Test & Review | The Nudes – 

IMG_4478k

So, I think these have been out for at least a good month or so now? I haven’t seen too many things about them online and such but we are still fairly early. In the range we have 3 Lip Kits :

Runway Berry   /   Got To Nude   /   Pose Pink  

and 4 Liquid Lip Paints :

Paparazzi Red   /   Embellish Purple   /   On-The Scene   /    Pop-Up Cherry   /   Minimalist Pink

If you’ve been here before you’ll know I always go for the neutral / nude shades in any lip range. So we shall be testing : Go To Nude, Pose Pink, On-The Scene, Minimalist Pink.


W H A T     D O    T H E Y     C L A I M  ?

Lip Kits : ” Reach pout perfection with the Matte Me Up Liquid Lip Paint and Liner. In 3 gorgeous, statement shades, its non-drying, ultra-long wearing formula is easy to apply and will leave lips with a gorgeously bold finish. Each kit comes with a matte liquid Lip Paint and Lip Liner.”*

Liquid Lip Paints : ” Reach pout perfection with Matte Me Up Liquid Lip Paint. In gorgeous, statement shades, its non-drying, ultra-long wearing formula is easy to apply and will leave lips with a gorgeously bold finish! ” superdrug.com*

The Lip Kits are £6.99 & the Liquid Lip Paints are £4.99 each which isn’t a bad price for the high-street / the brand. Plus with differing store offers. I really like the little presentation box we get with the Lip Kits, the single Liquid Lip Paints *thankfully* come plastic wrapped! The only thing I’m not a huge fan of is the ‘matte me up’ logo font..but I’m just weird with stuff like that.


S W A T C H E S

IMG_4647

Go-To   /    Pose    /    Minimalist    /    On The Scene

PicMonkey Image.jpg

Top To Bottom – Minimalist  //  Go-To : Liner & Liquid , Liquid Only  //  Pose : Liner & Liquid , Liquid Only  //  On The Scene

Apologies for the difference lighting and top lip shapes..it took a few attempts to get it right with each hahaa! These were all taken in natural light so hopefully you can see the tonal differences.


W E A R A B I L I T Y    &    D A Y     T E S T I N G 

As with all my product testing they’re done over (at least a 4 hour) work shift over a full days wear & make up. As these all claim to be long lasting formulas my hopes were high for all of these!

Having now worn all four over a full day they do all play pretty similar; the liquid lip paints are all very liquid in formula with a sweet scent. They dry down to matte in seconds whilst feeling weightless on the lips. I did notice that the lip liners & lip paints did feel and look slightly drier on the lips. 

Over a day they all seemed to wear the same way- About half way through (4-5 hours) there is some wear on the inner center and after lunch / dinner not much is left! With the darker nude shades this isn’t too noticeable but with a bright shade I imagine it would be.. This can quickly be fixed with a second layer!

When testing the lip kit shades (Go-To & Pose) with and without the liner I did prefer the look of both with just the liquid paint. For me the liners, as they typically do, left a drier feeling on the lips- I found that Go-To wasn’t as dark and more wearable (for me) for the daytime. 


F I N A L    T H O U G H T S..

I really love all the colours, I think ‘Pose’ is my favourite shade closely with the ‘Go-To’ liquid! For me these aren’t super long wearing..but I find all liquid matte lip products wear the same way of me. A quick retouch after lunch is all you’d need. The quick drying formulas are all highly pigmented and a little goes a long way- they should last for ages! For a high-street brand I’m really impressed with these Lip Kits; the price, availability and shade range. I can’t attest to how these compare to any other brands but I’d guess they’d do well! 

Please let me know your thoughts if you’ve also tried these lip kits- also how they compare to any other brands! I’d highly recommend picking one of these up to try, if there’s any other good ones out there do leave a comment! 🙂

I really hope this little review and swatch post can be helpful,  

Thank You So Much For Reading 🙂

name

Bloglovin ~             ~ Twitter ~           ~ Instagram ~           ~ Contact ~

5 thoughts on “Barry M Matte Me Up Lip Kits : Test & Review | The Nudes

  1. I did a review on my blog comparing the Kylie Cosmetic Lip Kit and the Barry M one and you’re totally right not to get overly fussed about the Kylie ones – these are personally in my opinion, just as good. The Kylie ones don’t last substantially longer at all on the lips and for the price you’re definitely better off with the Barry M ones! xx

    http://www.iridescentplaces.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

