The Garnier Micellars’ – Water .vs. Gel

Hello 🙂

Ever since the launch, which I think was about 2 years ago, of the original Garnier Micellar Water most of us fell in love with it! Before my first review I was sceptical that a seemingly plain ‘water’ could remove a full face of makeup..but boy’ was I wrong.

Since the original version was released we have seen (in the UK)

 Pure Active  //  Oil Infused  //   Natural Combination / Oily 

I have enjoyed trying all four of these micellar water, I use the Original & Pure Active as my morning cleansers. The oil version was a little bit rich for my skin. 

Now this year we have been introduced to a new formulation, which of course we had to try and test out..!

– The Garnier Micellars’ – Water .vs. Gel –  

IMG_4524.jpg

If you couldn’t already tell, I LOVE the original micellar water; for a fresh cleanse in the morning, removing eye makeup and also quick cleaning makeup brushes! I don’t use this as my only cleanser or to remove all of my makeup, but it’s prefect for the mornings I still don’t 100% get the science behind the ‘micellar’ or ‘micelles’ but, the general theory is that they magically pick up and dissolve away makeup / product on the skin. Online:  Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water contains micelles which act like magnets, gently lifting away makeup and impurities from the skin, without the need to rub or rinse.

But back to today’s post, I wanted to compare the original formula with this new gel one! Looking online the combination/oily version also comes in the gel formula too. 

W H A T     D O     T H E Y     C L A I M 

(all information is from boots.com)

ORIGINAL : Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water, designed for sensitive skin and loved by all skin types. A super efficient and gentle way to cleanse, remove makeup, soothe the feel of skin and hydrate in just one step; it’s not magic, it’s Garnier Micellar! Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water contains micelles which act like magnets, gently lifting away makeup and impurities from the skin, without the need to rub or rinse. 

GEL : Garnier SkinActive Micellar Cleansing Gel Wash, with grape extract, lovingly captures make up and dirt like a magnet, to remove make up without leaving the skin feeling dry or tight. Removes make up from the face, eyes and lips. Micellar technology acts like a magnet to remove dirt and make up. Dermatologically and ophthalmologically tested. Suitable for sensitive skin.

The only 2 differences I can tell are that the gel has ‘grape extract’ and is falling under the ‘skin active’ family. Aside from those the micelles’ claims are pretty much the same. They both work on the face, eyes and lips. Unlike the original bottle, the gel has no usage claims. Price wise (full rrp) :

400 ml Original Micellar Water = £4.99     //     200 ml Garnier Skin Active Micellar Cleansing Gel Wash = £3.99


F O R M U L A     &     U S A G E 

ORIGINAL : As we all know this has a water or toner like formula, to me it has a very faint floral scent to it. The water feels cooling and fresh on the skin without a tight or aggravating feel. Using 1-2 cotton pads worth a day a 400 ml bottle lasts me around 2 months or so. 

GEL : This isn’t as gel like as I was expecting; it’s more like a dry-oil-gel if that makes any sense! As it has the grape extract in it the formula reminds me a little of the Simple Cleansing Oil. 

Removing A Full Face / Day’s Wear of Make Up

G E L :  As the formula is on the oilier side (I think due to the grape extract) it does melt away the make up; I used circular motions around my face which ‘lift away’ the partials. I washed twice with the gel and a third with just water. The formula does lather slightly so a final water only rinse gets all residue away! Once again my skin feels soft, cleansed and looks clean. The only aspect I’m not too sure about is how it worked on my eyes; I was cautious not to rub overly rub this around my eyes just in case! It did remove some of my mascara, but I eneded up leaving my eyes and using the original water on a cotton pad after. For me I like the have a wipe or pad to wipe off the product onto- I am a bit OCD when it comes to eye products though! A good job at removing all base makeup within 2-3 passes, I would remove my eye makeup beforehand as per any face wash.

W A T E R : I won’t go too much into the water here as we all know it by know! Personally I feel like it has a slight ‘glide’ to the formula with a floral-ish scent. Of late I’ve been using the water to remove my eye make up which works really well and quickly. To remove a full day’s makeup I’d say it takes about 4-5 oval pads worth- but I rarely do that as that doesn’t leave my skin feeling totally clean. One glide of a pad over your face which show product on it. I really like the micellar water feeling and how it leaves my skin.


O V E R A L L 

Honestly, I really like both of these formulas; they are different yes- but I would say it comes down to how you use a micellar. By that I mean what you use it to remove; full face of make, first cleanse, last cleanse, eye make up only, ect! I personally have been using a micellar water as a morning cleanser, and the gel micellar as a first evening cleanse (not for eyes). They both work equally as well, for me, but again I would say it comes down the a formulation preference.

One thing I have noticed is that the gel seems to run out quicker than a water. I think I’ll stick to buying the water formula I can use it in more ways- plus I have a selection of other face washes to use haha! I think if you want a quick, efficient everyday cleanser the gel is a great product. One I really do like, but the water is just easier for me- I would highly recommend trying the gel formula, if you have already please do let me know you’re thoughts below 🙂

I do hope this little comparison post can be helpful in some way, these are both great products and I can’t wait ti see what they give us next..!

Thank You So Much For Reading 🙂

name

Bloglovin ~             ~ Twitter ~           ~ Instagram ~           ~ Contact ~

Leave a Reply

