L’Oreal Paris Infallible Mattifying Primer | Test & Review

Hello 🙂

Last week we typed about the L’Oreal Paris Infallible 24H Matte Foundation here on the blog, which may be my new favourite foundation…  So, I was very eager to try the matching primer. Then with pure coincidence it was on offer at Superdrug the following week- you know my love for finding a bargain hehe!

So of course I had to share my testing results with you all, I know I’m really late with this foundation/primer but I had to blog about for my fellow oily skin gals’!

As always, I hope this little test & review is helpful in some way- do let me know your thought on this primer and/or foundation below, along with any recommendations of your own! 🙂 

– L’Oreal Paris Infallible Mattifying Primer | Test & Review – 

IMG_3633.jpg

It’s safe to say, now it’s been a few more weeks of wearing it, that the Infallible Matte Foundation may be my new favourite; it lasts really well, feels lightweight but still with great coverage! The only downside is that the lightest shade (porcelain) is slightly too warm for paler skin tones so a couple more lighter shades would be perfect, L’Oreal if your reading this- please take note..

As it worked out this matching primer was on offer for £5.99 in Superdrug the other week! I had looked at reviews a few times when seeking a new oil controlling base product. Wanting to find a replacement for my current (and rather pricey..) Clinique primer, £5.99 was a perfect price to try! Even at the full £8 price it’s still a great price, I’m still surprised at these cheaper prices for L’Oreal!


W H A T    D O E S    I T      C L A I M..

£7.99 for 35 ml 

” Instantly transforms skin texture, resulting in a matte finish and velvet soft touch. Prepares and smoothes skin by minimising imperfections, pores and shine. Mattifying effect, Instantly transforms skins texture for an even surface with velvet-soft touch. Foundation glides seamlessly across it. superdrug.com

IMG_3634.jpg

On both Boots & Superdrug’s website this primer has 4.5/5 star review; most reviews from fellow oily skin sufferers, also a few comparing it to the Smashbox (I guess here) Photo Finish primer? I can’t attest to this but please let me know if you can! So safe to say I had high hopes..


T I M E     T O    T E S T ..

For testing I shall be trying it with the matching Infallible foundation and my beloved Revlon Colorstay. Both are long lasting and aimed at oil prone skin, however I would say the Colorstay has a heavier formula. Both tested over a full 8-9 working day in air-con / busy environments. 

Infallible Mattifying Primer Application

I was expecting, after reading the reviews, for this to be a runny formula as it’s silicone based. It’s more like a thick gel or serum texture to me, it does have a typical silicone feel but nothing too greasy feeling for me. There is a very faint scent to the formula which fades almost instantly! Application is very smooth, a little goes a long way – as with all primers I make sure to apply it well around my nose & chin. Your skin is left instantly matte and smooth looking- this formula does have a slight tacky-ness to it for a few mins. It also leave that pore blurring look on the skin without feeling heavy. As always I allow any primer to set for 5 mins!

Infallible Mattifying Primer + Infallible 24H Matte Foundation + Full Day Make Up

After the primer had set my skin looks and feels smoother, both the L’Oreal foundation and other base products (green concealer, light concealer & powder) all blended together really well. It gave a matte , non cakey finish which looked soft and natural- continuing to feel as lightweight as the foundation has been. 

Throughout the day my skin continued to look and feel matte without feeling heavy. As mentioned in the original foundation review, I’m in a very warm air-con environment with these cold day here in the UK at the moment! After about 6 hours my skin still looked 90& matte- only my chin was a tad shiny as per usual. I’d normally blot at this point but I didn’t feel the need to! Within the next 4-5 hours my skin STILL look matte, a tad dewy on the t-zone area but nothing much at all. I still didn’t feel that oily underneath it all either!

I’d say at the 10 hour mark did I need to blot / I started to feel oily. Still I wasn’t overly oily looking, but I could feel (around nose areas) the foundation / primer on my skin. If I needed the base to ‘keep going’ I would add a touch more powder on top- very impressed!

Infallible Mattifying Primer + Colorstay Oily/Combo Foundation + Full Day Make Up

As with the above, everything applied and blended well- the finish wasn’t as soft looking but still very nice. Revlon Colorstay is a thicker foundation, not sure how the dry/normal formula is, plus the colour is perfect (buff) on me! After 4 hours or so I did look slightly dewy on the chin and t-zone areas. A further 4 hours did add a touch more dewy’ness & a slightly oily feeling, much nothing major / that a blotting paper didn’t fix!

Around the 10 hour mark things were looking a little cakey and starting to break down a little- mainly on the key chin / t-zone areas. But more so that oily feeling of it on my skin. I wouldn’t powder or blot over at this stage as it just adds to the problem! It normally wears a little better, again it is a thicker formula to begin with so that is something to consider. Compared to the above I’m sadden to say the Colorstay just wasn’t as good..

O V E R A L L ..

Overall, I am in love with this primer- much like its foundation sister; it lasts all day, controls oils, feels lightweight and doesn’t break the bank! I was expecting the formula to be overly silicone feeling but it’s the perfect balancing between gel & serum feeling. 

Compared to my current Clinique Super Primer (£21 for 30ml) there is no competition! The Infallible gives a more blurred pore look which, in turn, gives that softer finish. I may see if I can get a sample of the Smashbox Photo Finish Primer to compare..let me know if that would be interesting.. With the two foundations I think the L’Oreal just beats it to the top spot, again I just wish they had some lighter shades!!

If you’re a fellow oily skin gal’ , also on the search for a good base products, I would highly recommend giving this duo a try! They won’t break the bank and do really work, I can’t wait to try them in the Summer months.

As always, do let me know any thoughts on this primer / foundation below! I hope this review test could be helpful in some way 🙂

Thank You So Much For Reading 🙂

name

Bloglovin ~             ~ Twitter ~           ~ Instagram ~           ~ Contact ~

6 thoughts on “L’Oreal Paris Infallible Mattifying Primer | Test & Review

  1. I see you don’t monetize your website, don’t waste your traffic, you can earn extra cash every month because
    you’ve got hi quality content. If you want to know
    how to make extra bucks, search for: best adsense alternative Wrastain’s
    tools

    Like

  2. I know what you mean, the shade (porcelain I think ) I have isn’t the best match for my pale skin, the formula is great but the colour not so. Highly recommend the primer, for the price it lasts for ages! Thanks so much for reading and leaving a lovely comment 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really want to try the foundation but the shade selection just doesn’t work for me, hopefully they listen and being out some more shades! The primer sounds great though, might give that a try 🙂

    Like

  4. This review is so great! I love that you included that most people on Boots and Superdrug have rated it highly and what it claims! I often find I love a product for a reason that isn’t necessarily what it claims to do which is so interesting! I’ll have to test this one out 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

