T B S Down To Earth 8 Shade Palette | Review & Swatches

Hello 🙂

You may remember seeing one of these Body Shop eye-shadows palettes in my Best Of Beauty 2016 post the other week, which featured the Gold Quad from this new Down To Earth range. I believe these all launched last summer and I was so impressed with the shadows; the pigment, lasting power, colour selections and price- they are £14 – £22 but there’s always a discount code online haha! As mentioned in the Best Of Beauty Post, since getting the last palette I’ve used it pretty much exclusively. Which you can guess has led to hitting pan on the colours!

With some spare Christmas cash (and a discount code) I decided to treat myself to another palette- of course I wanted to share swatches and all with you. As I completely forgot to do this with the gold quad haha..! Do let me know if you’ve tried any of these new eye shadows or products from The Body Shop below 🙂 

 – T B S Down To Earth 8 Shade Palette | Review & Swatches – 

IMG_3194j.jpg

Firstly, as you all know I’m a sucker for this sort of thing, but they have really upped their packaging with these palettes! I think years ago I have one of their ‘cubes’ eye-shadows quads which came in clear plastic packaging. These palettes are very slim and sleek- not too heavy either. You can pop out the shadows also, I suppose if you have one of those z-palettes things or you only want to take a few away on holiday maybe?!

Looking on The Body Shop website, these palettes claim :

 Discover a wide range of neutral shades inspired by nature to highlight the natural beauty of all skin tones and eye colours. The nature powered formula comes in 8 shades with x3 different finishes: true mattes, iridescent shimmers and eye-catching sparkles. All the shades can be used dry for easy blending, or wet for more intense, vibrant colour. This can help to create defined lines and strokes.” £22 / 16g  thebodyshop.com

In the 4 shadow palettes the colour options are; gold, blue, peach, grey and purple. So this 8 shade one sort of combines a few of these, I’d say the gold, peach and purple ones. A really nice selection of colours for everyday wear, neutrals which can be either be made up for subtle day looks, or darken night looks. I personally always go for the lighter shades!

S W A T C H E S 

PicMonkey Image.jpg*swatches were applied with a brush,  no base primer*

Apologies for my poor swatching skills here- I was trying to be fancy and use tape to get clean lines! But any who, as you can see these shadows have great pigment. I used a blending brush for these swatches- flat or detailing brushes may differ in results slightly! There is a slight bit of fall out with the darker shades, but that’s nothing too alarming- everything can be cleared up with a sweep of a powder brush! 

Matte Finish – Sahara Dune, Peru Clay, Black Canyon Onyx

Shimmer Finish – Aztec Gold, Kilimanjaro Rock, Provence Ochre, Zawar Zinc, Bengal Granite

Having used the Gold Quad for a while now I can confidently tell you shades blend super easily; with the darker colours a light dab will give full pigment. Applied with brushes or finger (more so with the golden shimmer shade) I found no issues!

The wearability on these is also really good, again as with the Gold Quad, these have been worn of full work days in the winter & summer months and varying air-con temperatures! I should mention here that I don’t suffer with over oily eyelids and/or wear any primer underneath them- I tend to blend foundation & concealer over eyes which helps! 

O V E R A L L 

As you’ve probably guessed from the start of this post, I really love these eye-shadows! They last all day, have great shades and aren’t too pricey. As I say with all Body Shop stuff there’s always a discount voucher or member deal going- plus they are made from great ingredients too! They aren’t super cheap but you get what you pay for. Very impressed with these new shadows-hopefully they’ll be more to come!

Let me know your thoughts if you’ve tried these shadows, or any good products from Body Shop 🙂 

Thank You So Much For Reading 🙂

name

Bloglovin ~             ~ Twitter ~           ~ Instagram ~           ~ Contact ~

ALL VIEWS ARE MY  OWN

One thought on “T B S Down To Earth 8 Shade Palette | Review & Swatches

Leave a Reply

