Blogging Basics : The Perfect Post

Hello 🙂

You may remember my last Blogging Basics Post & Top Five Blogging Tips Post. I really hope you enjoyed those posts and they were helpful in some way! It’s been a little while since that post, but I though it would be good to continue the theme talking about writing blog posts. As I said in the last post, I am by no means calling myself an expert at WordPress- there’s always room to learn new tips and tricks!

If you are a new blogger or reading this as you start to create your blog I really hope this little post can be helpful!

~ Blogging Basics : The Perfect Post ~

WordPress_blue_logo.svg.png

During last year WordPress updated their dashboard to a new and sleeker version. I started this blog at the start of 2015 and had a little time using both interfaces. There are things that are better and things I miss, but it’s all pretty much the same!

So, let’s look at the ‘New Blog Post’ Page;

jj

The main header bar is where most of the text editing options are; plus where the title is created. The main options that I use are highlighted:

Yellow – Here is where you can images to your blog post, once on the post you can re-size and align the picture as needed. More on images in my lasting post!

Purple – The standard bold / italics / underline options like you fine in word documents. Simple to use as in Word.

Green – Adding link from other websites or links to other blog posts. Highlight the text or word, click the ‘link’ icon to add the link. I always tick the ‘open link in new tab’ so readers aren’t directed away from your post!

Red – Again, much like in Word documents here you align left / center / right. I tend to keep everything central.

Blue – Inserts a line breaker to separate themes in a post or, for example; ingredients from the recipe. (see below!)

Most of the other options in this bar are similar to those you would find in a Word document.



Now you have the post written and ready to go, it’s time to add the final touches. Working down on the options, I don’t tend to use the last two options.

 The first box allows you to immediately publish your post, or you can schedule the date and time in advance. I tend to do this so everything is planned and ready to go. You can easily re-edit the date and times or simple publish whenever.


Untitled.jpgCategories & Tags
 – When you first set up your homepage you should have added in the pages / categories you want to include. There are many different ways of doing this, I stick to my  6 categories. Tags are where you can go crazy, these allow your post to be found only be ‘search words’.

Featured Image – If you have more than one image in your post, here you can choose which one will appear on the reader view.

Sharing – I tend to only share on twitter, all you need to do is add in the text that will be posts with the blog post link. On twitter, for example, I tend to tag the relevant companies and hashtags.

If you save a post as a draft it will appear, in the blog post page, under ‘drafts’, same with scheduled posts in ‘scheduled’.

That is how I post blog entries using most of the options. I tend to try and keep it as basic as needed to keep everything simple. Hopefully one day I can get to grips with all the fancy technical bits!

I really hope this post could be helpful in some way- again I’m no expert but this way has been working well for me so far!

Thank You So Much For Reading 🙂

name

Bloglovin ~             ~ Twitter ~           ~ Instagram ~           ~ Contact ~

 

One thought on “Blogging Basics : The Perfect Post

Leave a Reply

