Russian Piping Tip Trailing

Hello 🙂

If, like me, you are a follower of the amazing Vanessa from Cake Style you may recognise these from a video a few months ago..

She tested out these Russian Piping tips as they’re slowly appearing more and more on social media feeds. Her selection is a bit different from the ones I found sadly, but they have the same effect. The the main idea is to pipe a selection of flowers within one pipe. Of course, these won’t get the exact same look as single piping each petal but, from her video, they looked pretty good- so I had to give them a try. I purchased these from eBay UK for £9.99 which works out around £2 each.

So, I whipped up a batch of buttercream and got testing..!

~ Russian Piping Tip Trailing ~

IMG_8283k

After watching Cake Style’s video, the technique of small squeezes worked the best. Simply colouring a little bit of buttercream to hopefully show up the differences better. Looking at all the shapes only 3 looked like they would produce flower shapes. I probably could have found a better flower selection annoyingly! These are much bigger than your average tip also.

Surprisingly most of these tips worked pretty well; the second & fifth tips created a very similar design. The first, third and sixth tip however created the most flower like.

IMG_8278.JPG

I found that slightly turned then pulling up each pipe worked the best. They were quick and easy to use.

PicMonkey Collage1

My icing could have done with being a little firmer before piping. As I always say in these posts I’m my no means an expert or skilled decorator! One day I would love to be as talented as the Cake Style duo..

Overall, these tips are a quirky and fun idea. They do work well (once you get the knack) and do produce lovely designs. Built up on a cupcake or cake they would look great, even with some leafs dotted in as Vanessa did in her design. For a quick extra touch to a cake I think they’re a great set to have in your collection. Well done to the Russian’s for these funky things! I shall continue to experiment with these and maybe even see what others I can find..

Let me know if you have tried these tips and any tips on using them. Plus any baking blogs / Instagram below!

Thank You So Much For Reading!

Happy Baking!

name

Bloglovin ~             ~ Twitter ~           ~ Instagram ~           ~ Contact ~

Leave a Reply

