Manicure Monday : Essence Ombré Top Coat

Hello!

Hope you all had a lovely weekend and enjoyed the weather!

More of a review / first impressions Manicure Monday today- Essence’s Ombré Top Coat

IMG_5467

I saw this whilst browsing the Essence cosmetics on wilko the other day – you may remember I mention in my last mascara review that there may be a few Essence products on thee blog soon; we are on 2 of 3!

This is a new type of nail top-coat on the market. I haven’t seen any other brand do one like this- if there are others out there please let me know! I was intrigued to see if the effect came from how it dried on the nail of some aspect of the formula changes when dried.

On first look the polish is a cloudy, not opaque creamy white. With a normal brush. Looking at the picture of effect on the bottle, it seems that with 1 to 4 layers (over chosen colour) your choice of colour with dramatically lighten to give an ombré look. And of course the I had to try it!

The bottle states you it does not have to be a Essence polish for the effect to work (I don’t actually own any!) So I chose a light and dark colour to see the difference of effect.

On each nail I applied two coats of the base colour. Going left to right- no top coat, 1 coat, 2 coats, 3 coats, 4 coats.

Light Colour : Barry M Gelly ‘Blueberry’

IMG_5463

The top coat worked well on this light blue, in person you can see the whiteness of the top-coat. There isn’t a huge difference in colour after 4 coats.

Dark Colour : Barry M Gelly ‘Plum’

IMG_5465

There is a clear difference after the coats on the darker colour. Again, like on the lighter colour, you can clearly seen the white cast over the nail. I wouldn’t say that it lightened the plum to a lilac shade, more grey.

So overall, this top coat does lighten/change the original colour. I would say it made more of an ombre look on the lighter colour but nothing that is dramatically noticeably. There was more of a difference on the lighter colour but again it gave a grey hue to the colour. The polish may require some more testing on different colour, I’m not 100% sure if I like it or not yet..

If you use this polish or use it please let me know you thoughts and if you use it differently!

I hope you’ve enjoyed this little post!

Thank You So Much For Reading 🙂

~B~

Leave a Reply

