Manicure Monday : ‘Pave The Way’

Hello!

Hope you all had a lovely Bank Holiday weekend!

Haven’t done a Manicure Monday post in a little while, the last few weeks I haven’t had time to do my normally routine. But, we are back to regular programming!

I picked up the (I think new) Maybelline Color Show top coat in ‘Pave The Way’ last week in Superdrug. Sadly I can’t find it online. Recently I have been loving a top coat, I have a few of the Street Art ones which have been in use a lot! Plus if you knock your colour a top coat can quickly cover up the mistakes hehe.

IMG_5293

The black & white chunks makes a nice change from glitter or brighter colours. However, after using it for the first time today, sadly I’m not that impressed..

A lot of top coats, that are chunkier, are a little harder to apply. But this one took a while to get the look in the image. I found you needed to try and drain out the liquid and push on the chucks. The polish really smeared the white (Barry M ‘Cotton’) which I haven’t had happen before. See image below: little finger done by ‘painting’ method and ring finger by placing on the chunks.

IMG_5294

I don’t know whether it’s because it’s over a white but it wasn’t the look I was hoping for. I could take to time to place each chunk where I wanted them but I can’t be bothered to fuss with it. I have swatched it over brighter colours:

IMG_5297

So, overall I am not that impressed with this top coat. Whether I just have a dodgy bottle, it didn’t really work for me. Sad as my other Maybelline top coats have been good so far! Not the jolliest of posts I’m afraid..

But anyway, thank you so much for reading- let me know your thoughts if you have this polish

~B~

4 thoughts on “Manicure Monday : ‘Pave The Way’

  1. Great honest review – however having seen this on I’m really not a fan of it either, I just think the formula and concept don’t work 😦 such a shame! Karen xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

