It’s All About The Base

With this being my first make-up’y post I thought I’d best start with the most important bit- the base!

Personally, I like a full coverage- having dealt/dealing with spots and redness I like to cover up as best as possible. However, like most of us out there there have been times where it has gone a tad wrong…

But after trying many a foundation, concealer, etc I have finally found a combination that really works for me; and might just work for others!


IMG_3878
(L-R) B.Cosmetics Primer, Rimmel Lasting Finish ‘103’, Natural Collection Green Concealer, Collection Lasting Perfection ‘light’

Primer  :   Starting with a clean bare face (the scariest bit!) I start with the B.Cosmectics primer; this stuff is so good! I purchased after researching for  primers as it had very high reviews, I can see why. After applying your skin feels soft and make up goes on easily and lasts all day. This primer is available in Superdrug only, the price however is a tad high at £10 but I always get one in a B1G1F or B1G1HP deal- which isn’t very often as my last one lasted a good 10 months!

Concealing (Redness)    :    This step is optional if you don’t have/don’t want to cover up redness. I apply a small amount of the apples of my cheeks and bounce over the skin with my Real Techniques buffing brush to a very light green. The Natural Collection Green Concealer does the job that higher priced products do, and for £1.99 you can’t go wrong! Then, directly over that (with the same motion) a layer of the Collection Lasting Perfection concealer.

Foundation    :     There are a million ways it seems to apply foundation, I simply dab the product around the face and buff in with a Real Techniques buffing brush, apart from the cheeks where I use the same bouncing motion as to not move around the previous products. Rimmel Lasting Perfection is one of my favorites-  for longevity, colour and price! Also, if a sheerer of fuller coverage is required the product can be adapted by user.

Concealer   :    Back to the Collection Lasting Perfection, if you haven’t heard of this amazing stuff where have you been!? The fact that it’s always sold out in my local Boots & Superdrug must be a sign! When concealing after foundation I place under the eyes, cheeks, chin and any spots etc. I sometimes use the product alone on days where I wear minimal makeup. Best concealer I have ever tried.

Powder   :   *Excuse the lack of photo* The last step to set all the hard work is powder, 17 Miracle Matte Powder in Porcelain. The simply does the job and I use in the day for touch ups if needed. Using an ELF flat top Powder Brush and patting (not swirling) onto the skin and to add another layer.

And that’s it! I hope this has been helpful is someway, any products you think I should try let me know!

Thanks For Reading

 ~B~

5 thoughts on “It’s All About The Base

Leave a Reply

